Support Groups

Prostate Cancer support groups are open to patients, survivors, relatives, friends, healthcare professionals and others who care. No reservations are necessary and there are no fees. Most groups offer free parking and free refreshments. Meetings are usually monthly and often have professional speakers with audience Q&A and discussion. Learn to cope through knowledge and hope through support.

Please note that Boston support groups will meet on the second Monday of the month if the first Monday of the month is a holiday. Please contact the support group leader for any schedule-related questions. For additional information, contact MPCC at info@masspcc.org.

City Location & Contact Time Day
Attleboro Sturdy Memorial Hospital
211 Park St.

Karen Messier RN
508-236-7012
kmessier@sturdymemorial.org

7:00 PM First Wednesdays
Beverly Beverly Hospital
Ledgewood Center, Garden Room,
87 Herrick St.

John Quinn
978-236-1650
quinnjboston@gmail.com

 
7:00 PM Second Thursdays
(Not in July or August)
Boston BIDMC
(Men Only – Dealing with Incontinence & Erectile Dysfunction)
185 Pilgrim Rd., Deaconess Building, Room 312

Stan & Fran Klein
617-625-4875
klein@rcn.com

6:00 PM First Mondays
Boston BIDMC
(Men Only – Prostate Experience)
185 Pilgrim Rd., Deaconess Building, Room 205B

Gary Halvorsen
781-272-2546
halvy49@verizon.net

6:00 PM First Mondays
Boston BIDMC
(Advanced CA/Rising PSA)
185 Pilgrim Rd., Deaconess Building, Room 205A

Frank McCaffrey LICSW
617-667-3525
fmccaffr@bidmc.harvard.edu

6:00 PM First Mondays
Boston BIDMC
(Women’s Round Table Discussion: Women only)
185 Pilgrim Rd., Room 150 (4x’s a year: please call for dates)

Fran Halvorsen
781-272-2546
firstangel52@gmail.com
Fran Klein
617-625-4875
klein@rcn.com
6:00 PM First Mondays
Boston BIDMC – Main Program
185 Pilgrim Rd., Deaconess Building, Rooms 312-315
Stan Klein
617-625-4875
klein@rcn.com
7:00 PM First Mondays
Boston Boston Medical Center
830 Harrison Ave. Moakley Bldg., 3rd Floor
Robert David
617-638-7540
robert.david@bmc.org
6:00 PM Second Tuesdays
Boston Dana-Farber Cancer Center (PHEN)
44 Binney St., Smith Building, Room 308-309
Thomas Farrington
617-481-4020
thomas@prostatehealthed.org
5:30 PM Second Wednesdays
Brockton Brockton Hospital
Assembly Room, 680 Center St.

Donna Coughlin
508-941-7293
dcoughlin@signature-healthcare.org
Steven Lane, MD
508-350-2250
7:00 PM Third Wednesdays
(Not in July or August)
Burlington Lahey Clinic Medical Center
41 Mall Rd., Urology Center Conference Room, 4 East

Sharon O’Brien, RN
781-744-7485
sharon.e.obrien@lahey.org

6:00 PM Third Tuesdays
Fall River St. Anne’s Hospital
795 Middle St.

Mark Theodore (call for information)
508-674-5600 X2279
Mark.Theodore@steward.org

  Mondays
(break for 8 weeks, then start again)
Lowell Lowell General Hospital Cancer Center
295 Varnum Ave.

Meg Lemire-Berthel
978-937-6142
margaret.lemire-berthel@lowellgeneral.org

6:30 PM Second Tuesdays
Norwell Cancer Support Community-Mass South Shore
120 Longwater Drive, Suite 104

Tim Cummings
781-610-1490
timcummings@comcast.net

6:00 PM First and third Tuesdays
Pittsfield BMC Cancer Center
165 Tor Court 

Wayne Speyrer
413-447-3092
wspeyrer@bhs1.org

4:30 PM First Wednesdays
South Weymouth South Shore Hospital Cancer Center
1st Floor Conference Center, 101 Columbian St.

Bill Tinney
781-878-5273
wftinney@yahoo.com

7:00 PM Second Wednesdays
Winchester Winchester Hospital Cancer Center
620 Washington St.

Gary Halvorsen
781-272-2546
halvy49@verizon.net

7:00 PM First Wednesdays
Worcester UMass Medical Center
ACC Building on UMass Campus, 4th floor,
Conf. Room 248A/B

Mark Kennedy
617-481-4020
mark@prostatehealthed.org

 
5:30 PM Second Wednesdays
Worcester UMass Medical Center
ACC Building on UMass Campus, 6th Floor Conf. Room

Carl Barstow
508-835-3390
cbarstow46@gmail.com

Dan Flynn
978-840-0593
dan.flynn2@verizon.net
6:00 PM Second Thursdays